Connecteam Review 2026
Connecteam is an all-in-one app for deskless teams: a GPS time clock and scheduler, a communication hub and a set of HR tools, sold as three separate subscriptions with a free tier for up to 10 users. It is excellent at what it targets. It is not built for people who work at a computer, and its pricing needs careful reading.
HiveDesk editorial rating
4.3 / 5
The most complete deskless workforce app we have reviewed, with a generous free tier. Marked down for a three-hub pricing model that hides the true cost, steep steps past 30 users, and no computer-based monitoring.
What Is Connecteam?
Connecteam is a mobile-first employee management platform for workforces that do not sit at desks: construction, cleaning, healthcare, retail, hospitality, security and field services. It is organized into three hubs. Operations holds the time clock, scheduling, tasks, checklists and forms. Communications holds chat, a company feed, surveys and updates. HR and Skills holds time-off policies, documents and e-signatures, training courses and recognition.
Each hub is priced separately, and each paid tier covers the first 30 users for a flat monthly fee with a per-user charge beyond that. A free Small Business plan covers up to 10 users with every hub and feature. Connecteam also markets some AI-assisted features such as message translation and scheduling suggestions; we did not evaluate those and treat them as vendor descriptions.
This review is based on the Connecteam pricing page, its time clock product page and its Capterra listing, all fetched in September 2026. HiveDesk also publishes a head-to-head comparison and a Connecteam alternatives page; this review focuses on Connecteam itself. We have no commercial relationship with Connecteam.
Connecteam Pricing in 2026
The table shows the Operations hub, which is where the time clock and scheduling live. The Communications and HR hubs use the same $29, $49 and $99 tier prices for the first 30 users, with lower per-additional-user rates ($0.50 to $3.00 per user per month billed annually).
| Plan | Price | Billing basis | What it includes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Small Business | $0 | Free for up to 10 users, all hubs and all features | The full product for teams of 10 or fewer |
| Operations Basic | $29 per month billed annually ($35 billed monthly) for the first 30 users, then $0.80 per additional user per month ($1.00 monthly) | Per hub, per 30-user block plus per additional user | Real-time clock in and out with GPS, unlimited jobs, payroll integration, basic scheduling, unlimited checklists, forms and tasks |
| Operations Advanced | $49 per month billed annually ($59 monthly) for the first 30 users, then $2.50 per additional user ($3.00 monthly) | Per hub, per 30-user block plus per additional user | Everything in Basic plus full time clock customization, auto clock-out, up to 10 geofence sites, advanced filters, repeating shifts |
| Operations Expert | $99 per month billed annually ($119 monthly) for the first 30 users, then $4.20 per additional user ($5.00 monthly) | Per hub, per 30-user block plus per additional user | Everything in Advanced plus unlimited geofence sites, auto-assign shifts, up to 12 schedules, API access, webhooks |
| Enterprise | Custom | Quote based | Expert features plus unlimited time clocks, SSO, two-factor authentication and a personal success manager |
What a team actually pays
Annual-billing rates, Operations hub only, versus Operations plus Communications plus HR:
| Team size | Operations Basic | Operations Advanced | All three hubs, Basic |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10 users | $0 (free plan) | $0 (free plan) | $0 (free plan) |
| 30 users | $29 | $49 | $87 |
| 50 users | $45 | $99 | $123 |
| 100 users | $85 | $224 | $213 |
Pricing as of September 2026 from the Connecteam pricing page, which states that annual billing saves 18 percent. The worked examples are our arithmetic from the listed rates. Confirm current figures with Connecteam before buying.
Key Features
Availability comes from the pricing page's tier descriptions and the time clock product page. Where a capability is not assigned to a tier or not mentioned, the table says so.
| Feature | Availability |
|---|---|
| GPS clock in and out with live location breadcrumbs | Operations Basic and above |
| Geofenced job sites | Up to 10 sites on Advanced; unlimited on Expert |
| Kiosk mode with PIN or selfie verification | Operations hub; tier not specified on the time clock page |
| NFC tag clock-in | Advertised on the time clock page; tier not specified |
| Breaks, overtime and double time auto-calculated | Operations hub |
| Timesheets with employee confirmation and manager approval | Operations hub |
| Payroll integration and PDF or XLS exports | Operations Basic and above |
| Shift scheduling | Basic scheduling on Basic; repeating shifts on Advanced; auto-assign on Expert |
| Checklists, forms and task management | Operations Basic and above |
| Team chat, company feed, surveys and polls | Communications hub (separate subscription) |
| Time-off policies, e-sign documents, training courses, recognition | HR and Skills hub (separate subscription) |
| Screenshots or computer activity monitoring | Not advertised on the pricing or time clock pages |
| Desktop tracking app for Windows, macOS or Linux | Not advertised; Connecteam is mobile-first with a web admin |
What Connecteam Does Well
A free plan that includes everything for 10 users
The Small Business plan gives teams of up to 10 the full product across all three hubs at no cost, with no feature stripping. For a small crew or a new business this is the most generous entry point among the tools we have reviewed.
Cheap per head for teams of 30
Operations Basic at $29 a month for the first 30 users works out to under a dollar per user when billed annually. Even Expert at $99 for 30 users is about $3.30 per user. Few competitors match that for a full team.
A capable field time clock
GPS breadcrumbs while on the clock, geofenced sites, kiosk mode with selfie verification and NFC tag clock-ins cover most ways a deskless team punches in, and breaks, overtime and double time are calculated automatically.
Communication and HR tools most time clocks lack
Chat, a company feed, surveys, training courses, e-sign documents and recognition badges are unusual in this category. For a workforce that never sits at a desk, having those in the same app as the time clock is the point.
Very high independent ratings at scale
On the Capterra listing fetched for this review, Connecteam holds 4.6 out of 5 across 5,311 reviews, with 96 percent positive sentiment.
Where Connecteam Falls Short
The hub model makes the real price hard to see
Operations, Communications and HR are three separate subscriptions. A team that wants time tracking, chat and time-off policies pays for all three hubs, so the $29 headline can become $87 or more per month before the team passes 30 users.
Costs step up sharply past 30 users
Pricing is set for the first 30 users and then charged per additional user. Geofence limits, schedule limits and API access are also gated by tier, so a growing operation tends to climb the ladder quickly.
No computer-based monitoring
Connecteam verifies location, not screen activity. Screenshots, activity levels and application tracking are not advertised on its pricing or time clock pages. Remote and desk-based teams that need to verify work on a computer are outside its design.
Notification and performance complaints
In the Capterra review summary the most cited negatives are overwhelming and inconsistent notifications, recurring bugs, and slow performance and lag, with the lag theme 80 percent negative among the reviews that raise it.
Mobile-first is a limitation for office teams
The product is designed for phones. Employees who work at a desk all day and managers who want desktop time tracking will find the experience built for a different kind of workforce.
Independent review data: Connecteam holds a 4.6 out of 5 overall rating from 5,311 reviews on Capterra as of September 2026, with sub-ratings of 4.5 for ease of use, 4.5 for features, 4.6 for customer service and 4.5 for value.
Who Should Use Connecteam?
Connecteam is a good fit for:
- Deskless teams of 10 or fewer that want a full-featured free tool
- Field, cleaning, security, retail and hospitality workforces on phones
- Employers that want time clock, chat and HR documents in one mobile app
- Teams around 30 users, where the flat tier fee is cheapest per head
- Operations that clock in by GPS, kiosk or NFC at physical sites
Connecteam may not be enough for:
- Remote and hybrid teams that need computer time tracking with screenshots
- Contact centers and BPOs that need activity monitoring and schedule adherence on desktops
- Businesses that need all three hubs and are sensitive to the combined cost
- Teams growing well past 30 users on a tight per-user budget
- Companies that want a desktop app for Windows, macOS or Linux
Connecteam Alternatives
Our Connecteam alternatives page compares seven tools in detail. The short version:
- HiveDesk for desk-based, remote, BPO and contact-center teams: automatic time tracking on Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS and Chrome, screenshots and activity monitoring, scheduling, attendance, leave management, timesheets and approvals, all in one plan at $5 per user per month. No GPS crew tracking, so it is not a replacement for field operations.
- Homebase for single-location hourly businesses, with a free plan for 10 employees and per-location paid plans. Read our Homebase review.
- ClockShark for construction and field service crews that need job costing with their GPS time clock. Read our ClockShark review.
- Hubstaff, Clockify and Toggl Track if time tracking rather than a full deskless platform is the priority. See our Hubstaff review, Clockify review and Toggl Track review.
Connecteam vs HiveDesk
The full head-to-head lives on our HiveDesk vs Connecteam page. This summary shows the boundary between the two.
| Feature | Connecteam | HiveDesk |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing model | Free to 10 users; per hub, $29 to $99 per month for 30 users plus per-user beyond | $5 per user per month, one plan |
| Free trial | 14 days, no credit card | 14 days, no credit card |
| Time clock | Mobile GPS, kiosk, NFC | Desktop, mobile and browser apps |
| GPS and geofencing | Yes | No |
| Screenshots and activity monitoring | Not advertised | Yes |
| Scheduling | Yes, tiered | Yes |
| Attendance and leave management | Attendance in Operations; time off in the HR hub | Yes, one plan |
| Task and project time tracking | Tasks and checklists; time by job | Yes |
| Team chat and training | Yes, separate hubs | No |
| Integrations | Payroll providers; API on Expert | Asana |
| Best for | Deskless and field workforces | Remote, BPO and contact-center teams |
14-day free trial · No credit card required · All features included
Frequently Asked Questions
As of September 2026, the Connecteam pricing page lists a free Small Business plan for up to 10 users and three paid tiers per hub. For the Operations hub, Basic is $29 per month billed annually ($35 monthly) for the first 30 users plus $0.80 per additional user, Advanced is $49 ($59 monthly) plus $2.50 per additional user, and Expert is $99 ($119 monthly) plus $4.20 per additional user. Communications and HR hubs are priced separately at the same tier prices with lower per-user add-on rates. Annual billing saves 18 percent.
Yes, for up to 10 users. The Small Business plan includes all hubs and all features at no cost. Teams of 11 or more move to paid plans priced for the first 30 users plus per-user charges beyond that.
Yes. The time clock records location at clock-in, shows live GPS breadcrumbs while employees are on the clock, can auto clock-out when someone leaves a geofenced site, and supports kiosk and NFC tag clock-ins. Screenshots and computer activity monitoring are not advertised.
For a small deskless business it is one of the best value options, because the free plan covers 10 users with the whole product and paid plans cover 30 users for a flat fee. It is a poor fit for small remote or office teams that need computer-based time tracking.
Operations covers the time clock, scheduling, tasks, forms and checklists. Communications covers chat, the company feed, surveys and updates. HR and Skills covers time-off policies, documents and e-signatures, training and recognition. Each hub is a separate subscription, so the total depends on how many you need.
No such feature is advertised on the Connecteam pricing or time clock pages. Connecteam is designed for deskless teams and verifies presence by location. Teams that need screenshots and activity monitoring for remote computer-based work should look at HiveDesk, which includes both at $5 per user per month.
Connecteam is better for field, retail, hospitality and other deskless workforces that need a GPS time clock plus communication and HR tools in one mobile app. HiveDesk is better for remote, hybrid, BPO and contact-center teams that work on computers and need automatic time tracking with screenshots and activity monitoring, plus scheduling, attendance and leave management, at a flat $5 per user per month. Our HiveDesk vs Connecteam page has the full breakdown.
Homebase and When I Work for hourly scheduling and time clocks, ClockShark for construction crews, and HiveDesk for desk-based and remote teams. Our Connecteam alternatives page compares seven options side by side.
Related Reading
- All software comparisons and reviews — every review, head-to-head comparison and alternatives page on HiveDesk in one place.
- HiveDesk vs Connecteam — the full feature and pricing comparison.
- Connecteam Alternatives — seven tools compared for time tracking and workforce management.
- Employee Monitoring Guide — what activity monitoring covers and how to roll it out fairly.
Ready to Get Started?
Join teams worldwide who trust HiveDesk for workforce management, time tracking, and employee monitoring. $5/user/month, all features included.