Average Salary in Costa Rica (2026): Official Data and Costs
The average registered salary in Costa Rica was ₡712,399 a month (about $1,590) in June 2026 according to CCSS payroll data, with the unskilled minimum wage at ₡373,092 and employer social charges of 26.83% on top of gross pay.
The average salary of a formally employed worker in Costa Rica was ₡712,399 per month in June 2026, roughly $1,590 at the September 2026 exchange rate. That figure comes from the payroll records of the Caja Costarricense de Seguro Social (CCSS), the social security fund every registered employer pays into, as reported by La Nación on September 13, 2026. It covers salaried workers whose employers file monthly contributions, which is exactly the population a foreign company will be hiring from. The legal floor for an unskilled worker is ₡373,092.30 a month under Executive Decree 45303-MTSS, and employer social charges add 26.83% before the mandatory Christmas bonus.
Exchange rate and dates
All dollar figures on this page use ₡448.11 per US dollar, the published mid-market rate for September 19, 2026 from exchangerate-api.com. The colón has been unusually strong against the dollar since 2023, so dollar-denominated salary figures from 2022 or earlier understate what a Costa Rican employee costs today. Each figure below carries the month and source it was taken from.
The Official Numbers
Costa Rica has two official salary measures that answer different questions, and most third-party pages mix them up.
The first is the CCSS registered salary. Every employer must enrol staff with the Caja and report monthly pay, so the CCSS database is a census of formal wage employment rather than a survey. The June 2026 national average across the 12 economic sectors the Caja tracks was ₡712,399. La Nación's analysis of the same data put the free-trade-zone average at ₡1,291,539 in July 2026, with financial intermediation (₡1,845,384), health services (₡1,631,742) and business services (₡1,500,507) at the top. Business services, which is where shared service centers and contact centers sit, grew from ₡1,098,078 in 2020 to ₡1,500,507 in July 2026.
The second is the household survey run by the Instituto Nacional de Estadística y Censos (INEC). The Encuesta Continua de Empleo covers everyone who works, including the 38.2% of the employed who held informal jobs in the first quarter of 2026, and its income figures are therefore much lower. INEC's quarterly summaries for the November 2025 to January 2026 and January to March 2026 periods do not publish a headline income figure at all; they report 2.17 million employed persons, 1.60 million of them salaried, an unemployment rate of 7.1% and an occupation rate of 50.3%. The last INEC income figure widely quoted in English, ₡411,151 a month, dates from 2023 and was picked up by a payroll vendor in April 2024. It is still circulating on aggregator sites in 2026.
That explains the spread you will see elsewhere. Wage.is quotes ₡620,000, Employsome ₡785,000 and Wikipedia ₡759,095 for 2024, none of which name the survey or the month. Procomer, the export promotion agency, published a 2025 study putting the free-trade-zone average at $2,319 against a national average of $1,169. The CCSS figure is the one to budget against, because it describes registered employees at registered employers, and the free-trade-zone figures describe the multinational labor pool you will compete with for bilingual staff.
Minimum Wage in Costa Rica
Costa Rica does not have a single minimum wage. The Consejo Nacional de Salarios sets a schedule of rates by occupational category, published each year by the Ministerio de Trabajo y Seguridad Social. For 2026, Executive Decree 45303-MTSS, published in La Gaceta No. 229 on December 5, 2025, raised every category by 1.63% effective January 1, 2026.
| Category (private sector, 2026) | Monthly minimum | Daily minimum |
|---|---|---|
| Unskilled worker (trabajador no calificado) | ₡373,092.30 | ₡12,436.41 |
| Semi-skilled worker | ₡405,710.70 | ₡13,523.69 |
| Skilled worker | ₡419,755.80 | ₡13,991.86 |
| Specialized worker | ₡487,335.00 | ₡16,244.50 |
| Technical, secondary diploma (técnico medio) | ₡496,838.17 | n/a |
| University bachelor's degree holder | ₡664,078.07 | n/a |
| University licenciatura holder | ₡796,921.00 | n/a |
The category that applies depends on the job's content, not the person's qualifications, except for the degree-holder rates, which apply when the role requires the degree. A bilingual customer service agent is normally classified as semi-skilled or skilled, so the floor for that role is ₡405,711 to ₡419,756 a month, and market rates sit well above it. An employer that pays below the applicable category is liable for back pay plus fines, and inspectors from the Ministry of Labor check classification during audits.
Salaries by Industry
The CCSS series is the only official industry breakdown that is both current and monthly. The figures below are from La Nación's September 13, 2026 analysis of CCSS data for July 2026 and for 2020.
| Sector (CCSS registered employment) | 2020 average | July 2026 average |
|---|---|---|
| Financial intermediation | not reported | ₡1,845,384 |
| Health services (private) | not reported | ₡1,631,742 |
| Business services (includes BPO and shared services) | ₡1,098,078 | ₡1,500,507 |
| Manufacturing | ₡714,827 | ₡991,372 |
| Fishing | ₡443,017 | ₡643,036 |
| All registered employment | not reported | ₡712,399 (June 2026) |
| Free-trade-zone regime, all sectors | not reported | ₡1,291,539 |
Two things stand out for a foreign employer. The gap between the free-trade-zone average and the national average is about 80%, which is the premium multinationals pay for English, technical skills and shift flexibility. And the free-trade-zone regime employed 200,203 people in July 2026, down 1.08% on the year, the first decline in seven years, with business services losing 3,034 positions over 12 months. Costa Rica's contact center and shared service labor market is tightening at the top but has more available candidates than it did in 2024.
Salaries by Region
Neither the CCSS nor INEC publishes a monthly regional salary series in its summary releases, so treat any city-level figures you see online as estimates. What the data does support is a strong concentration effect: the Gran Área Metropolitana around San José, Heredia, Alajuela and Cartago holds nearly all free-trade-zone employment and therefore nearly all of the ₡1.29 million average. Coastal provinces are dominated by tourism and agriculture, where the applicable minimum wage categories are lower and informality is higher. For a remote hire, location matters less than it did, but candidates in the GAM will benchmark against multinational pay, and candidates in Guanacaste or Limón will benchmark against local tourism wages.
What Remote and BPO Roles Pay
The table below uses gross annual bands from Paylab's Costa Rica salary survey, converted to months, alongside the legal minimum for the category. Paylab publishes the range that 80% of respondents fall inside, so the low end is the 10th percentile and the high end the 90th. These are self-reported market ranges, not official statistics, and they were read on September 19, 2026.
| Role | Market range (monthly gross) | In US dollars | Legal floor (2026) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Call center agent (Paylab "call operator") | ₡326,600 to ₡911,900 | $730 to $2,035 | ₡405,711 (semi-skilled) |
| Customer support specialist | ₡446,700 to ₡836,200 | $997 to $1,866 | ₡419,756 (skilled) |
| Call center supervisor or team lead | ₡406,900 to ₡1,215,200 | $908 to $2,712 | ₡487,335 (specialized) |
| Administrative assistant | ₡400,900 to ₡976,950 | $895 to $2,180 | ₡405,711 (semi-skilled) |
| Accounting and finance (category average) | ₡684,550 average | $1,528 | ₡664,078 (bachelor's) |
| Software developer (backend) | ₡590,300 to ₡1,994,400 | $1,317 to $4,451 | ₡664,078 (bachelor's) |
Costa Rica's contact center sector is priced for bilingual, multinational work. Paylab's customer support category average is ₡657,336 a month, and the CCSS business services average of ₡1.5 million includes senior and technical staff at shared service centers. In practice, a US company hiring an English-speaking support agent directly should budget ₡550,000 to ₡800,000 a month in base pay to be competitive with the free-trade-zone operators, and more for technical support or team leads. Procomer's 2025 comparison ($2,319 in free-trade zones against $1,169 nationally) is the clearest single statement of what the multinational tier pays.
What It Costs to Employ Someone in Costa Rica
Costa Rica's employer charges are among the highest in Latin America. From January 1, 2026, employer contributions total 26.83% of gross salary, up from 26.67% after the IVM pension rate rose; the rates below are from La Nación's December 16, 2025 breakdown of the CCSS schedule and are fixed through December 31, 2028.
| Employer contribution (2026) | Rate |
|---|---|
| CCSS health and maternity (SEM) | 9.25% |
| CCSS disability, old age and death (IVM) | 5.58% |
| Banco Popular (two components) | 0.50% |
| Family allowances (FODESAF) | 5.00% |
| IMAS social assistance | 0.50% |
| INA vocational training | 1.50% |
| Labor capitalization fund (FCL) | 1.50% |
| Complementary pension operator (ROP) | 2.00% |
| INS workplace risk insurance (varies by activity) | 1.00% |
| Total | 26.83% |
On top of that, every employee receives the aguinaldo, a thirteenth-month payment equal to one twelfth of the year's gross pay, due by December 20. Employees also contribute 10.83% from their own pay, which affects take-home but not employer cost.
Worked example: one customer service agent. Assume a base salary of ₡550,000 a month, which sits inside the Paylab call operator band and above the semi-skilled minimum.
| Line | Colones | US dollars |
|---|---|---|
| Base salary | ₡550,000 | $1,227 |
| Employer social charges at 26.83% | ₡147,565 | $329 |
| Aguinaldo accrual (1/12 of base) | ₡45,833 | $102 |
| Total monthly employer cost | ₡743,398 | $1,659 |
The fully loaded cost is 35% above base pay before vacation accrual (two weeks after 50 weeks of service), severance reserves (cesantía, up to eight months' pay depending on tenure) or equipment. Employer of record providers charge a further $400 to $600 per employee per month; see the Costa Rica EOR guide for how that compares with a local entity.
Salary Trends
Costa Rica is in a rare position: wages are rising while consumer prices fall. INEC reported year-on-year inflation of -0.17% for August 2026, the sixteenth consecutive month of negative annual readings and the fortieth month below the Central Bank's 2% to 4% target range. Minimum wages rose 1.63% for 2026 under Decree 45303-MTSS. In the CCSS series, business services pay rose about 37% between 2020 and July 2026, and manufacturing about 39%.
The pressure on a foreign employer therefore comes from the exchange rate rather than local inflation. A salary fixed in colones has become more expensive in dollars as the colón appreciated, and a salary fixed in dollars has lost purchasing power for the employee. Most multinationals in Costa Rica pay in colones and review annually against the CCSS sector averages.
How US and UK Companies Pay Workers in Costa Rica
There are three routes. A local entity (an S.A. or S.R.L.) gives full control and the lowest per-head cost at scale, but requires CCSS registration, a local legal representative and monthly filings. An employer of record hires the person on your behalf, runs the 26.83% contributions and the aguinaldo, and charges a monthly fee; the EOR guide and the EOR cost breakdown explain the trade-offs. Independent contractor arrangements are common for developers but risky for support agents who work fixed shifts under your supervision, because Costa Rican courts look at the substance of the relationship and can reclassify a contractor as an employee with back contributions owed.
Working hours, overtime at 1.5 times, the 48-hour week and the rules on night shifts are covered in the Costa Rica labor law guide. For the wider nearshoring picture, including why Costa Rica is priced above Colombia and the Dominican Republic, see the nearshore versus offshore comparison and the Latin America cultural guide. To model a full team, the BPO labor cost method walks through shrinkage and overtime on top of base pay.
Tracking Time and Attendance for a Team in Costa Rica
Costa Rica pays overtime after 8 hours in a day shift and 6 in a night shift, and the aguinaldo and severance both depend on accurate pay records, so hours need to be captured to the minute. HiveDesk records clock-ins, breaks and clock-outs from desktop, mobile and browser apps, takes periodic screenshots for remote staff, and builds timesheets that a Costa Rican payroll provider or EOR can use directly. Scheduling, attendance and leave tracking are included in the single plan at $5 per user per month, with a 14-day free trial and no credit card required.
Pay Costa Rican Staff on Verified Hours
HiveDesk tracks time, attendance and schedules for remote and nearshore teams across time zones, so overtime, aguinaldo and vacation accrue from real data. $5/user/month, all features included.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the average salary in Costa Rica per month in US dollars?
The June 2026 CCSS average for registered employees was ₡712,399, which is about $1,590 at ₡448.11 per dollar. Free-trade-zone employees averaged ₡1,291,539, about $2,882, in July 2026. Household-survey figures that include informal work are lower, and older dollar conversions from 2022 or 2023 understate today's cost because the colón has strengthened.
What is a good salary in Costa Rica?
Anything above the free-trade-zone average of about ₡1.29 million a month places an employee in the top tier of the formal market. For a bilingual customer service agent, ₡550,000 to ₡800,000 is competitive; for a mid-level developer, the Paylab band runs to about ₡2 million. A "good" salary is best defined against the CCSS sector average for the role's industry rather than the national figure.
Can you live on $1,000 a month in Costa Rica?
$1,000 is about ₡448,000, which is above the unskilled minimum wage of ₡373,092 and below the national registered average of ₡712,399. A single person outside the San José metro area can cover housing, food and transport on it, but it is below what most multinational employers pay for skilled roles, and it would not be a competitive offer for bilingual staff.
Can you live on $2,000 a month in Costa Rica?
$2,000 is roughly ₡896,000, above the national registered average and close to the free-trade-zone average. It supports a comfortable standard of living in the Central Valley for one person and a modest one for a family; the question for an employer is that this is roughly what a skilled bilingual professional at a multinational already earns in gross pay.
Can you live on $5,000 a month in Costa Rica?
$5,000, about ₡2.24 million, is above the 90th percentile of most Paylab role bands and above the financial sector's CCSS average of ₡1.85 million. It is a senior professional or management income in Costa Rica.
How much does an employer pay on top of salary in Costa Rica?
26.83% in social charges from January 2026, plus the aguinaldo equal to one twelfth of annual pay, plus vacation and severance accruals. A ₡550,000 salary costs about ₡743,000 a month before those accruals, roughly 35% above base.
Sources
- Estos son los sectores de zonas francas que pagan los salarios más altos en Costa Rica, La Nación analysis of CCSS data and the Procomer 2025 study, September 13, 2026 (accessed September 19, 2026)
- Cargas sociales suben en 2026, La Nación, December 16, 2025 (accessed September 19, 2026)
- Decreto Ejecutivo 45303-MTSS, salarios mínimos 2026, summary of the decree published in La Gaceta No. 229, December 5, 2025 (accessed September 19, 2026)
- Encuesta Continua de Empleo, primer trimestre 2026, INEC, May 6, 2026 (accessed September 19, 2026)
- Encuesta Continua de Empleo, noviembre 2025 a enero 2026, INEC, March 5, 2026 (accessed September 19, 2026)
- Inflación interanual en Costa Rica se ubica en -0,17% en agosto, La Nación reporting INEC's IPC release, September 2026 (accessed September 19, 2026)
- Salaries in Customer Support, Costa Rica, Information Technology, Administration and Economy, Finance, Accountancy, Paylab (accessed September 19, 2026)
- What is the Average Income in Costa Rica?, Playroll, April 29, 2024, for the older INEC figure (accessed September 19, 2026)
- USD exchange rates, exchangerate-api.com, September 19, 2026
See the other salary guides by country for Nigeria, the Dominican Republic, Jamaica, Peru and the rest of the nearshore and offshore hiring markets.